Collaborative surveys and map layers

Collaborative surveys and maps are shared between workspaces, allowing multiple organisations to contribute data to a single dataset.

Collaborative surveys and maps are marked with a globe icon on the left-hand sidebar:

Collaborative surveys

When you are viewing the survey list page for a collaborative survey, you can switch filters between showing surveys from the current workspace and surveys from all workspaces.

You can toggle this setting in the Sort and filter panel. Open the panel by clicking the Sort and filter button at the top of the survey list:

Use the Filter by workspace dropdown menu in the Sort and filter panel to toggle between viewing surveys in the current workspace and all workspaces:

When viewing all workspaces, the workspace name appears next to the surveyor’s screen name. Surveys from all visible workspaces are included in the XLSX and CSV downloads available by clicking the Download button.

What survey data gets shared?

We only share approved surveys between collaborating workspaces. We don’t share surveys marked “draft”, “complete”, “in review”, or “rejected”, which are only ever visible in their originating workspace.

All of the data in the shared surveys is visible in all collaborating workspaces. This includes:

  • Every field on the survey forms
  • Every photograph attached to survey forms
  • Every column in the spreadsheet download
  • Limited information about surveyors (see below)

We don’t share surveyors’ real names or email addresses. We only share two things: their user IDs and their screen names:

  • User IDs are long sequence of random characters. Each ID is unique to a Cartographer user account, but IDs don’t contain any personally identifiable information.
  • Screen names can used to acknowledge users’ contributions. They default to a user’s real name but can be changed on the My account page to anything of the user’s preference.

Collaborative maps

Collaborative maps have a similar workspace setting to collaborative surveys. You can adjust it on the Map options panel, accessed by clicking the small cog icon at the top right of the inspector sidebar:

Click the workspace filter dropdown [1] on the map options panel and select Include data from other workspaces [2] to toggle between viewing data from the current workspace and all workspaces:

Features from all visible workspaces are included in the KML, GeoJSON, and CSV downloads available from the map options panel.

What map data gets shared?

We only share map features that originate from approved surveys. We share all monitoring data from the map, but we don’t share any information about surveyors.